Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Oxford English Dictionary
"The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from Dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books."
Orwell's works online
ebooks@Adelaide: George Orwell
E-texts from the University of Adelaide, Australia. To the best of our knowledge, the texts of these works are in the “Public Domain” in Australia. Copyright law varies in other countries, and the work may still be under copyright in the country from which you are accessing this website. It is your responsibility to check the applicable copyright laws in your country before downloading this work. These works are most likely not in the public domain in the United States.
Titles by Orwell, and titles about Orwell and his work, in hard copy and/or online
Tips for using Encompass Search for this assignment:
Run a SUBJECT search on either of these phrases: George Orwell or George Orwell language
Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals from every discipline. Includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
Recent archive of journals from a number of academic presses.
MLA International Bibliography
Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan