Subject Guides: Special Collections: Pennsylvania German Collection: Pennsylvania German Collection @ Trexler Library

This collection includes books, periodicals, recordings, and ephemera relating to the Pennsylvania German language, history and culture. It is a representative collection of the first one hundred years of German-language printing in America (1748-1848) and includes a number of rare early books including many Sauer imprints. Included in this collection are materials by and about members of the Muhlenberg Family (1770-1850).

For an overview of the Pennsylvania German Collection (up to 1968), see the Heinrich Kelz subject bibliography, available in the reference collection and online. this bibliography indexes the Pennsylvania German Collection up to 1968.

For more information about how to search Trexler Library's catalog for items in the Pennsylvania German Collection, click here.
For more information on the Pennsylvania German Collection, and other Special Collections at Trexler Library, see the About Us page on the Library Special Collections web page.
For access to items in the Pennsylvania German Collection, please contact Special Collections at Trexler.

HIghlights from the Pennsylvania German Collection

Saur imprints at Trexler Library
Imprints published by the Saur/Sower family of Germantown, PA.

[The Muhlenberg papers] : [Manuscript]. by Henry Augustus Philip Muhlenberg 1782-1844; Henry A Muhlenberg (Henry Augustus), 1823-1854.
Call Number: P.G. 929.2 M952
Publication Date: 1770-1854
Collection consists of original letters, retained autograph copies of letters, manuscripts of speeches and articles all written by and to members of the Muhlenberg family. Largest group of material consists of the papers of Henry Augustus Philip Muhlenberg (1782-1844), describing social and political life in Washington while serving in Congress, 1830-1838; also his letters from Vienna while serving as the first U.S. minister to Austria, 1838-1840. The papers of the junior Henry Augustus (1823-1854) include correspondence about his biography of General John Peter Gabriel Muhlenberg. The bulk of the correspondence both to and from the two Henry Muhlenbergs covers in depth national, Pennsylvania, and Berks County politics in the 1830s and 1840s.
Tage-buch : [Manuscript] by Frederick Augustus Conrad Muhlenberg 1750-1801.
Call Number: P.G. 284.12 M9521t
Publication Date: 1770-1772
Holograph diary of Frederick Augustus Conrad Muhlenberg, the first Speaker of the House of Representatives.
Assebe un Sabina radio scripts. [Manuscript] by Lloyd A Moll 1879-1944. Paul Wieand, Clarence R Rahn, William B Fetterman, Arthur Mickley
Call Number: P.G. 791.4472 A884u
Publication Date: 1944-1954
Assebe un Sabina, a radio program broadcast from 1944-1954 over WSAN in Allentown, Pa., is an example of folk drama and serialized radio programming. Skits were presented in the Pennsylvania German dialect and are rich in folklore, idiomatic expression and humanity.
Charles C. More Collection. [Manuscript]. by Charles C More 1851-1940.
Call Number: P.G. 839.088 M835a
Publication Date: 1925
Twenty-seven volumes of unpublished Pennsylvania German dialect poetry, both holograph and typescript.
The Pennsylvania German Collection in the John A.W. Haas Library, Muhlenberg College, Allentown Pa. : a bibliography by Kelz, Heinrich P.
Call Number: Ref. 011.7 K294pe
Publication Date: 1969
This bibliography " ... represtents an inventory of the Pennsylvania German Collection of the Haas Library conducted in 1969. The work contains non-standard bibliographic citations, irregularities in spelling and capitalization and bibliographic 'ghosts'. No revisions or updates have been issued."

Need help?

Tom Christie

(he/him)

Email Me

Contact:

Tom Christie
Cataloging and Metadata Librarian; Government Documents Coordinator

484-664-3575

Subjects: Information Science, Music