Subject Guides: Queer China: Home

Finding Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Oxford Bibliography of Anthropology This link opens in a new window
"Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students, scholars, and professionals.
It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen."

Finding Articles

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Premier database of scholarly and trade journals and books in media and communication and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly journals and books in anthropology, archaeology, and related fields. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
A database of mostly scholarly journal articles, as well as some books and non-scholarly articles published by the American Anthropological Association. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A full-text database with journal articles and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text of articles appearing in history journals, with emphasis on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). It includes citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.

Don't Forget About Books

While scholarly journals are commonly used in media and communication studies research, scholarly books can be very relevant, as well. Many scholarly books in media and communication studies are actually edited collections of chapters. A chapter in an edited collection can be much like a scholarly journal article; many even go through peer-review before publication.