Subject Guides: Reading Austen: Home

Reference works (good for getting recommendations of sources, including primary sources)

generally. . .

Britain in the Hanoverian Age (Ref Collection 942.07 N552b)

dance and music . . .

International Encyclopedia of Dance (Ref Collection 792.6203 I61e)
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (Ref Collection 780.3 N532n)

art/architecture. . .

Oxford Art Online
A library subscription database.

Google Books
When used on campus, Google Books will sync with local library holdings and interlibrary loan. From an item record, choose "Find in a Library," then "Request Item" (interlibrary loan) if the item is not available in our College library.
Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
***RECOMMENDED***
A subscription database. Focus on European History.

Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
***RECOMMENDED***
A subscription database. Standard index for literary criticism. Some links to full text.

Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.