Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Reference works for topic narrowing and recommended bibliography
Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
How do I locate scholarly articles on my topic?
Academic Search Complete
Limit to "peer reviewed" or "academic journals" to get at the scholarly journals.
America: History & Life with Full Text
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
Specific to religion studies. Use caution here: not all sources included here are scholarly.
Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
Sage Journals Online
All full text. All academic. Covers many of the social sciences including studies of popular culture.
How do I locate scholarly books on my topic?
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Search for books indexed and scanned by the Google books project.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan