Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Location: Trexler Library level C call # 952 K76
How do I locate scholarly books on my topic?
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.
How do I locate scholarly articles (chapters or journal articles) on my topic?
Academic Search Complete
Available by library subscription. Limit to "peer reviewed" or "academic journals" to get at the scholarly journals.
Available by library subscription. Specific to religion studies. Use caution here: not all sources included here are scholarly.
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
Available by library subscription. Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
What about authoritative websites?
Articles and books via interlibrary loan