Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Representing Body in Art : Home

Need help with your research?

 

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kellycannon@muhlenberg.edu

Getting to the full text

Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

Reference works

standard dictionaries

The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language Preferred American English dictionary.

dictionaries of word history and etymology. . .

A comprehensive etymological dictionary of the English language. Dealing with the origin of words and their sense development thus illustrating the history of civilization and culture
Trexler Library B level, call # 422 K64c

The Oxford English dictionary
Trexler Library B level, call # 423 M982o
OR
OED Online

Chronology of words and phrases : a thousand years in the history of English
Trexler Library B level, call # 422 F588c

Grand allusions : a lively guide to those expressions, terms, and references you ought to know but might not
Trexler Library B level, call # 422.03 W371g

The origin of medical terms
Trexler Library B level, call # 610.14 S628

thesauri. . .

Roget's Thesaurus
Trexler Library B level, call # 424 B291r
OR
American Heritage Roget's Thesaurus

The synonym finder
Trexler Library B level, call # 423.1 R685s

slang dictionaries. . .

Green's Dictionary of Slang
Trexler Library B level, call # 427.09 G795c
OR
Green's Dictionary of Slang Online

New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English
Trexler Library B level, call # 427.09 N532p

guides to quotations. . .

Bartlett's Familiar quotations
Trexler Library C level, call # 808.8 B289f

Columbia World of Quotations Online

dictionaries of symbols. . .

Symbolism : a comprehensive dictionary.
Trexler Library B level, call # 302.22 O44s

and

Reverse symbolism dictionary : symbols listed by subject.
Trexler Library B level, call # 302.22 O44r

concordances. . .

Concordance of Shakepeare's Works

The Harvard concordance to Shakespeare
Trexler Library C level, call # 822.33 A6s

Analytic concordance to the Bible
Trexler Library B level, call # 220.2 Y75a

gazetteers. . . 

The Columbia gazetteer of the world
Trexler Library C level, call # 910.3 C726g

indexes. . .

Granger's Index to poetry
Trexler Library A level, call # 016.81 G758  

subject-specific dictionaries and encyclopedias. . .

Credo Reference
An online collection several hundred reputable encyclopedias subscribed to my Muhlenberg College.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Trexler Library C level, call # 909 D554

The Encyclopedia of religion
Trexler Library B level, call # 203 E56

Encyclopedia of human biology
Trexler Library B level, call # 612.003 E56o

Macmillan encyclopedia of chemistry
Trexler Library B level, call # 540.3 M137e

Man, myth & magic : the illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion, and the unknown
Trexler Library A level, call # 133 M266m

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Trexler Library A level, call # 103 R869e

 

Periodical articles

Search engines

Citing sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books via interlibrary loan

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.