Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Outreach and Scholarly Communication Librarian
Humanities & Business Subject Specialist
IM (AIM, Yahoo, MSN): refcannon
Reference desk IM: talktotrexler
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Trexler Library level A 016.9 G946, 1995
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Online academic encyclopedia available by library subscription. Well-suited to topics related to the French Revolution.
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution 1789-1799
Trexler Library level C 944.0403 S429h
Books in our collection and elsewhere
Search for books indexed and scanned by the Google books project.
Scholarly articles, full text or ordered on interlibrary loan
Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals from every discipline. Includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A subscription database. Standard index for European history 1450-present.
MLA International Bibliography
A subscription database. Standard index for literary criticism.
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan