Subject Guides: Summer Business Institute: Home

Company Financial Data

Google: Company websites
Explore individual company websites. Look for sections targeting shareholders or investors.
EDGAR Company Filings
Open access. Since 1934, the SEC has required disclosure in forms and documents. In 1984, EDGAR began collecting electronic documents to help investors get information. The SEC's new system requires data disclosure — the next step to improve how investors find and use information.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Available by library subscription. Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals covering all aspects of accounting, business, and economics.
Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.

Google: Company websites
Explore individual company websites. Look for sections targeting shareholders or investors.
International Directory of Company Histories
A reliable source of historical information for many companies: American and foreign, private and public, past and present-day.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Available by library subscription. Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals covering all aspects of accounting, business, and economics.
Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.

International Directory of Company Histories
A reliable source of historical information for many companies: American and foreign, private and public, past and present-day.

Annual Statement Studies
Trexler Library level B 657.3 R627a
Reuters
Open access. Search for a publicly-traded company by ticker or company name, then click on "financials" to see company and industry ratios, calculated for the latest fiscal year end.
Weddles Association List
A directory of trade associations, which can be good sources of industry-level data.

Art and the Public Domain
Trexler Library guide to open-access sources of art.
Creative Commons
Open access. Gateway to photos and graphic art licensed for not-for-profit or for-profit use. In general, no permission need be requested. Always give attribution. Licenses vary, so read each license carefully.

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.