Subject Guides: Scientific Communication: Home

Sourcing Wikipedia Entries

Wikipedia Criteria for Reliable Sources

Reference Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Newspaper Sources

Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality and Gender features a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Trexler Library has access to three parts of the archives; LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Parts 1 and 2 plus Sex and Sexuality, 16th to 20th Century.
"LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part I" brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.
"Part II" adds oral history transcripts, diaries, and letters that provide a deeply personal and human interpretation of the LGBTQ experience and less mainstream LGBTQ groups such as student groups, Two-Spirit people, the Jewish LGBTQ community, LG Christian groups, and bisexual, transvestite, and transgender communities.
"Sex and Sexuality" is a collection of books in the natural and social sciences as well as literary works and humanities. Books examine topics such as patterns of fertility and sexual practice; prostitution; religion and sexuality; the medical and legal construction of sexualities; and the rise of sexology.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, a periodical index, videos, images, and more, combined from several resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index. The database is a rich source of full text peer-reviewed journals such as Africa Policy Journal, African American Review, African Arts, African Economic History, African Studies Quarterly, Africana, and scores of others.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922.
Colonial North American Project at Harvard University
This website provides access to some of the remarkable materials digitized as part of the ongoing, multi-year Colonial North American Project at Harvard University. When complete, the project will make available to the world digitized images of all known archival and manuscript materials in the Harvard Library that relate to 17th and 18th century North America.

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) comprising books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.
Content covers critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Primarily in English but also includes other languages.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-present.
Slavery in America and the world: history, culture, & law This link opens in a new window
"This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery....The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. We have gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We provide word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection."
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
"...a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
New York Times Digital Archive, 1851-4 years ago This link opens in a new window
Includes full text PDF images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857- 4 years ago). Index searches within1851 to 1993 using The New York Times Index.
New York Times Digital Archive, 1851-4 years ago This link opens in a new window
Includes full text PDF images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857- 4 years ago). Index searches within1851 to 1993 using The New York Times Index.
newspapers.com (Pennsylvania Collection) This link opens in a new window
Trexler Library has access to Newspapers.com Pennsylvania Collection which includes full or partial runs of 276 local newspapers published in Pennsylvania from 1769-2013.
The Newspapers.com Library Edition database provides searchable access to digital images of historical newspapers. Every part of every page is searchable, including local articles, advertisements, editorials, classified ads, and obituaries.
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Full text journals available for searching include: Harper's Magazine (1850- ), LaFollette's Magazine (1909- ), The Progressive (1909- ), Commonweal (1924- ), The New Leader (1924- ), The New Yorker (1925- ), Commentary Magazine (1945- ), Dissent (1954- ), American Spectator (1967- ), Washington Monthly (1969- ), Orion Magazine (1982- ), The Weekly Standard (1995- ), Americas Quarterly (2007- ), Washington Examiner (2013- ).
Pennsylvania Gazette This link opens in a new window
The Early American paper of record, 1728-1800. Access via Accessible Archives (now part of History Commons).

Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
A free resource. This archive offers searchable full-text access to more than 80 historically significant newspaper titles from the Commonwealth prior to 1923
Philadelphia Inquirer
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1860 - 2001

Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States for the period 1890-1982.
Slavery & anti-slavery: a transnational archive This link opens in a new window
"Slavery & anti-slavery: a transnational archive covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery: legal issues; the Caribbean; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more."
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online This link opens in a new window
" The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events."
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.
U.S. Northeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Major daily, regional, and local newspapers in the northeast including:
The Morning Call 1984-present
Philadelphia Inquirer 1983-present
Boston Globe 1997-present
Hartford Courant 1992-present
New York Daily News 1995-present
New York Observer 2001-present
New York Post 1998-present
Newsday 1985-present
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 1993-present
The Record (Bergen County) 1996-present
Village Voice 1993-2015

Women's Issues and Identities
Global in scope, the Women's Issues and Identities archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society. Women's Issues and Identities spans multiple geographic regions, providing a variety of perspectives on women's experiences and cultural impact. The database includes fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.

Journal Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Over 500 full text journals covering most medical disciplines. Also includes full text in the areas of healthcare economics and management.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1948 and links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,000+ full-text journals published by Elsevier 1995 to the present in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.

Looking for a particular journal? Do a Journal Search to check for availability.

Looking for a particular article? Use the library's Article Locator.

Scientific Communication

Get Help

Sourcing Wikipedia Entries

Reference Resources

Newspaper Sources

Journal Resources

To use or not to use?