Subject Guides: Media & Communication Senior Honors Seminar: Core Resources

Finding Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 302.203 E56o vol. 1-3 (Level B)
In-depth entries on a variety of communication-related topics.
International Encyclopedia of Communication
Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 302.203 I56e vol. 1-12 (Level B)
In-depth entries on a variety of communication-related topics.
Annual Reviews
Scholarly overviews of subfields to help you identify the important questions and conversations.

Finding Scholarly Articles and Books

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Premier database of scholarly and trade journals and books in media and communication and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A full-text database with journal articles and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.

Finding Popular Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Open Resources

Derivative work can be made from materials in the public domain and through certain kinds of creative commons licensing! I've created a guide that includes links to many of these resources.

Core Citation Resources

APA Style is typically preferred for media and communication studies, but check with your professor for style requirements and recommendations to be sure.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.)
Location: Ready Reference 808.06615 P976m 2010 (Level A)
The authoritative and complete manual for APA Style.
Citation Guides (Muhlenberg College)
Examples of citation formatting in APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.