Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, a periodical index, videos, images, and more, combined from several resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index. The database is a rich source of full text peer-reviewed journals such as Africa Policy Journal, African American Review, African Arts, African Economic History, African Studies Quarterly, Africana, and scores of others.
Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-present.
"...a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
"Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. "
Citations to scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and more in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines, with many sociology journals. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Other Recommended Databases for Scholarly Literature
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including sociology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Citations to scholarly journals in sociology, psychology, political science, health, social work, education, and more. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
Citations to scholarly journals in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.