Subject Guides: Sociology of Food : Home

Getting Started with Selected Reference Materials and Websites

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

The Cambridge World History of Food by Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor); Kriemhild Coneè Ornelas (Editor)
ISBN: 0521402166
Publication Date: 2000-10-09
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
ISBN: 0684805685
Publication Date: 2002-12-17
Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by Andrew F. Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195154375
Publication Date: 2004-12-09
The Oxford Companion to Food by Alan Davidson; Tom Jaine (Editor)
Call Number: 641.3003 D252o
ISBN: 9780199677337
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition by Benjamin Caballero (Editor-In-Chief, Editor); Luiz Trugo (Editor); Paul Finglas (Editor-In-Chief); Fidel Toldrá (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: 613.203 E56o v.1-10
ISBN: 9780122270550
Publication Date: 2003-04-22
Cheese by Paul L. H. McSweeney (Editor); Patrick F. Fox (Editor); Paul D. Cotter (Editor); David W. Everett (Editor)
ISBN: 9780124170179
Publication Date: 2017-05-10
Fermented Beverages by Alexandru Grumezescu (Editor); Alina-Maria Holban (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128157039
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
The Atlas of Food by Erik Millstone; Tim Lang; Marion Nestle (Foreword by)
Call Number: 641.3 M657a
ISBN: 0520254090
Publication Date: 2008-10-01

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
A database of citations to scientific literature primarily focusing on agriculture (including books, articles, and online resources) created by the National Agriculture Library.
AGRICOLA records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

Both data sets are updated daily with newly cataloged and indexed materials. Each may be searched separately, or the two may be searched together.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Available by library subscription. Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals covering all aspects of accounting, business, and economics.
Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and more in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Finding Books

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS WITH ENCOMPASS SEARCH

Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. Rather than searching in separate databases, Encompass Search helps you find resources from many catalogs and databases quickly and easily, all from a single search box.

To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

Finding More Information on the Web

Data and Statistics / Government Organizations

Agricultural Marketing Service from the USDA
"The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) administers programs that create domestic and international marketing opportunities for U.S. producers of food, fiber and specialty crops. AMS also provides the agriculture industry with valuable tools and services to ensure the quality and availability of wholesome food for consumers across the country. The agency’s goal is to provide timely and unbiased market insight that helps American farmers and businesses make informed decisions about the marketing, sale and delivery of their products. Having the right information at the right time is key to achieving success."
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
"FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings
from 1961 to the most recent year available."
UN Comtrade Database
UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010.
United States Drug Administration - Agriculture Counts
Statistics on "virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture, [including]: production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, changes in the demographics of U.S. producers," and more.
US Food and Drug Administration: Food

Trade Associations

Food and Beverage Trade Associations
184 associations including the American Egg Board, the American Pie Council, and the Hop Growers of America.

How do I get the full text of my article?

To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

Citing Your Sources

For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.

For help using American Sociological Association Style, consult the following resources:

ASA Style Guide (4th ed., 2010)
Location: Ready Reference 808.0663 A512a 2010

Muhlenberg College Trexler Library ASA Guide

Quick Style Guide (American Sociological Association)

Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.