Subject Guides: Invasion of the Mute Swans: Home

Reference Works Focused on Food

Cultural and food encyclopedias in/via Trexler Library

Encompass Search
To find only books, use the Book limit box on the left sidebar of your search results page. You can also limit to Muhlenberg College or search books in Libraries worldwide.
GoogleBooks
Google has digitized millions of books, some of which are freely available online. Muhlenberg affiliated atrons of Trexler Library can interlibrary loan books not freely available as full text.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.

America History & Life
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Google Scholar
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A subscription database for non-U.S. history. Some full text.

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.