Subject Guides: Theories of International Relations: Home

Resources for Class

Identifying a Question: Selected Resources for Topic Idea Development

Browse News

Search News

Determine Significance/Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Finding Articles: Databases & Indexes

Subject-Specific Databases (Scholarly)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, and more in the area of international affairs theory and research. Full text is linked directly in the database.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index is an index of scholarship and research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It contains citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
PAIS Index combines two databases, PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International is the electronic version and continuation of the print publications PAIS Bulletin, PAIS Foreign Language Index, and their predecessor titles. PAIS Archive is the electronic version of the print publication PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin and its predecessor titles. By combining these two databases, PAIS Index contains all PAIS indexing from 1915 - present.
Security Studies This link opens in a new window
Includes academic and policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues, from a global perspective. Spans a range of disciplines and covers topics such as cybersecurity, foreign policy, human security, international law, military studies, peace & conflict studies, and terrorism & political violence. Full text journals, documents, and reports.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Interdisciplinary Databases (Scholarly and News)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.

Finding Data and Statistics: Selected Resources

African Development Bank Group: African Statistical Yearbook
Data is Plural
A fun spreadsheet of sometimes odd data sets.
Freedom House
Freedom throughout the World
Gapminder
Data visualization - fun reference to data sets.
Global Corruption Report
International Labor Statistical Agencies
List of global labor statistical agencies by country.
Least Developed Countries Report
Open Data Portal
Portal to open civic data from around the world.
Pew Research Center
Statistics on politics, media, technology, religion, social trends, etc.
UNESCO Institute of Statistics
World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers
1964-2017
World Trade Organization: Statistics

UNITED NATIONS

WORLD BANK

WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

How do I get the full text of my article?

To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.