Subject Guides: Tudor/Stuart Britain: Home

Reference works

Credo Reference
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
Trexler Library 306.09403 E56o
Signed articles. Invited authors.
Wikipedia
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.

Scholarly books

Encompass
Trexler Library's discovery service tells a) if we own a book electronically or in print, b) if a book has been reviewed in peer reviewed journals, c) what other libraries own a book.

Periodical articles (secondary) that may also contain references to primary documents

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A subscription database. Includes extensive full text, scholarly.

Google Scholar
An open-access search engine that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly" on the free web. Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Be sure to check library catalog to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A subscription database. Standard index for European history, but emphasis is on post-1492. Some full text links.

Primary sources

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Google Books
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.

Bibliography samples

1. Doran, Susan, and Thomas Freeman, eds, Mary Tudor: Old and New Perspectives

2. Erickson, Carolly, Bloody Mary: The Life of Mary Tudor

3. Loades, David, Mary Tudor: A Life

4. Loades, David, Mary Tudor: The Tragical History of the First Queen of England

5. Richards, Judith M. "Mary Tudor as 'Sole Quene'?: Gendering Tudor Monarchy", Historical Journal, xl (1997), pp. 895–99.

6. Richard, Judith M. ‘To Promote a Woman to Beare Rule’, Sixteenth Century Journal, xxviii (1997), pp. 101–21

7. Wizeman, William, SJ ‘The Virgin Mary in the Reign of Mary Tudor’, in Studies in Church History, xxxix, The Church and Mary, ed. R. N. Swanson (Woodbridge: The Boydell Press, 2004), pp. 239–48

Citing sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books via interlibrary loan

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

Tudor/Stuart Britain

Need help with your research?

Getting to the full text