Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Reference works (good for generating topics and recommending sources)
Encyclopedia of Mexico
Available by library subscription. Signed articles written by leading scholars in the field. Great for topic narrowing and for identifying the most important articles and books on a subject.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Newly revised and online, well-respected resource complete with recommended readings for further study.
Grove Art Online
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by over 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.
Useful in particular for the reference lists that accompany many of the entries: popular and sometimes scholarly sources.
Authoritative secondary commentary in books
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Here are some sample SUBJECT searches using Library of Congress subject headings:
women Mexico history
sex role Mexico history
gender nonconformity Mexico
masculinity Mexico history
ethnic relations Mexico
race relations Mexico
racially mixed people Mexico
church and state Mexico
Catholic Church Mexico history
political corruption Mexico
women in art Mexico
folk art Mexico
women artists Mexico
Mexico History Spanish colony
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
Authoritative secondary commentary in articles
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text of articles appearing in history journals, with emphasis on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). It includes citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations.
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
Art Full Text
Index and selected full text from art periodicals, 1929-present. Full text journals include Architects' Journal, Art Bulletin, and Art Journal.
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
Websites for primary documentation
Articles and books via interlibrary loan