Subject Guides: How to Think about Weird Things: Home

Finding Entries in Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Encyclopedia of the Paranormal
Reference 133.03 S819e

Skeptic Encyclopedia of Pseudoscience
Reference 503 S553s v.1-2

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1000 entries that focuses on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology.
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology
Covers recent and historical phenomena, topics, concepts, cults, personalities, organizations, and publications associated with the fields of occultism and parapsychology. Includes over 2,000 biographies of prominent individuals and personalities in these fields; country entries on the development of occultism and parapsychology; and pro and con narrative on some of the controversial topics.
Wikipedia
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.

Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
GoogleBooks
Google has digitized millions of books, some of which are freely available online. Muhlenberg affiliated atrons of Trexler Library can interlibrary loan books not freely available as full text.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Publication title level search only - no articles or chapters. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) button. Items generally take 4-14 days to arrive.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large and diverse database that covers most academic disciplines that contains both scholarly and non-academic resources. Includes many articles in full text.

Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable collections of full-text journals from a wide variety of disciplines
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,000+ full-text journals published by Elsevier 1995 to the present in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.