Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Where can I go for brainstorming and narrowing a topic?
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
How do I find scholarly introductions to my paper topic?
history and culture of Latin America. . .
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Newly revised and online, well-respected resource complete with recommended readings for further study.
Encyclopedia of Mexico
Available by library subscription. Signed articles written by leading scholars in the field. Great for topic narrowing and for identifying the most important articles and books on a subject.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
(Ref Collection 972.01 098e)
Traditional Festivals: A Multicultural Encyclopedia
(Ref Collection 394.2603 R888t)
How do I locate scholarly books?
How do I preview books online?
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
How do I locate peer-reviewed (scholarly) journal articles (in Spanish and English)?
Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly. English only.
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
Index and full text to journals published in and about Latin America, across the disciplines. English, Portuguese, Spanish.
Web search engines and directories
Blogs and other opinion-based websites can function as primary source material to gauge contemporary attitudes about a particular concept. In addition, statistical websites can serve as a source for primary documentation.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan