Subject Guides: World War I: Home

Reference works

Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
Trexler Library, B level, call # 306.09403 E56o
Coverage of an array of topics of social interest at the time of the WWI.
World War I: Encyclopedia
Trexler Library, C level, call # 940.303 T894w

Primary sources (sources published contemporaneously with the War)

Encyclopedia Britannica 11th ed. (Trexler Library, A level, call # 032 E56).
Vols. 1-29 published 1910. Update (volumes 30-32) published 1922.

Foreign Relations of the United States (Trexler Library, A level, Govt. Documents call # S1.1)
Primary documentation of U.S. foreign relations. Indexed by country.

Google Books
Search can be limited to wartime publications.

[London] Times Digital Archive
1785-1985.

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications (Trexler Library, A level, end of Govt. Documents section)
Listing of U.S. government documents, by year and then by subject. Full text of documents can be retrieved either through our library catalog, through Google Books, or on interlibrary loan.

New York Times (microfilm, Trexler Library level A; index at call # 071.471 N532y)
Coverage 1857-2010.

Papers of Woodrow Wilson (Trexler Library, A level, call # 973.913 W754pa)

Readers Guide Retrospective
Coverage 1890-1982. Index of popular press periodicals, many of which can be found hard-copy in the library. Interlibrary loan is also an option for titles we don't carry.

World War I Document Archive
Hosted by Brigham Young University.

Book-length studies

Specific titles:

The Great War, by Ian Beckett (Trexer Library, level C, call # 940.3 B394g)
The Experience of World War I, by J.M. Winter (Trexler Library, level C, call #940.3 W785e)
The First World War, by Hew Strachan (Trexler Library, level C, call #940.3 S894f)

Scholarly journal articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.

Google Scholar
An open-access search engine that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly" on the free web. Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Be sure to check library catalog to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Available through library subscription. Standard index for U.S. and Canadian history. Links to full text or interlibrary loan.
Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A subscription database. Standard index for European history, but emphasis is on post-1492. Some full text links.

Web search engines and directories

Google
Authoritativeness will vary. Assess author and institutional affiliation.

Citing sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books via interlibrary loan

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

World War I

Need help with your research?

Getting to the full text