A Chorus Celebrating Women (ACCO) was formed in September 1992 at the YWCA of Allentown, PA, by artistic director Beverly Morgan. Their first public performance took place at the Unitarian Universalist Church in December 1992.
This collection contains correspondence, publicity, concert programs, posters, sheet music, photographs, and recorded performances.
Bradbury-Sullivan LGBT Community Center was founded in 2014 and opened in 2016 to serve the LGBT community across the Lehigh Valley. The center was founded through a restructuring of Pennsylvania Diversity Network which served as a regional advocacy organization for the LGBT community in the Lehigh Valley from 2004-2014.
Files include correspondence, publicity, and other ephemera pertaining to the events and actions of the Bradbury-Sullivan LGBT Community Center.
Diamonz Nightclub and Restaurant was a LGBT bar that opened in 1996 in Bethlehem, PA. It was owned by Lenora Johnson. Diamonz closed in 2016.
This collection is made up of photograph collages, a poster, trophies, and awards presented to Diamonz.
FACT is a non-profit organization committed to raising money to assist individuals and families affected by HIV, the virus that causes AIDS, and to conquer the HIV/AIDS crisis within the Lehigh Valley and surrounding communities. Since 1986 FACT has been identifying, supporting, and monitoring programs that provide direct and educational services within the serviced communities.
The Lehigh Valley Homophile Society ("Le-Hi-Ho") held its first meeting on June 22, 1969. The goal of the group was to provide social opportunities outside of the bar scene for members of the LGBT community in the Lehigh Valley. The society published monthly newsletters (1969-1985) featuring the information relevant to the community, including social events and field trips, activist opportunities and reporting on the national and regional gay liberation movement, and eventually HIV and AIDS. Thanks in part to Le-Hi-Ho’s success and the establishment of other organizations to support the LGBTQ+ community, the organization ceased by the early 1990s.
This collection is held by the Allentown Public Library (APL) and may be accessed by contacting the APL Reference Desk at (610) 820-2400. Selected materials have been digitized and made available below.
Metropolitan Community Church (MCC) of the Lehigh Valley was founded in 1984 in Allentown, PA. Originally started in 1968 in California, MCC was formed to support the spiritual needs, as well as the rights of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer communities. MCCLV is currently located in Bethlehem, PA.
Materials in this collection of MCCLV include correspondence, prayer requests, materials for trainings and meetings, bulletins, and as well as digital photographs and videos.
The Pennsylvania Diversity Network was a regional advocacy organization started by Liz Bradbury and Patricia Sullivan in 2004. It was preceded by the Pennsylvania Gay and Lesbian Alliance of Political Action, also headed by Bradbury and Sullivan. In 2016, the Pennsylvania Diversity Network was restructured into the Bradbury-Sullivan LGBT Community Center.
This collection includes organizational documents, correspondence, information and pins for political actions and events, and training materials.
The Pennsylvania Gay and Lesbian Alliance of Political Action was formed in 1997 by Liz Bradbury and Patricia Sullivan. They published voter guides and lobbied for LGBTQ rights, including working to get the Allentown Anti-discrimination Ordinance passed. Liz and Trish were also publishing the Valley Free Press starting in 1998. PA-GALA ended in 2005 and Bradbury and Sullivan began the Pennsylvania Diversity Network.
This collection consists of administrative and publication records, as well as the materials documenting the passing of Allentown's Anti-discrimination ordiance including petitions, affadavits, and signed delcarations. There is also information concerning Allentown's Home Rules Charter, Allentown's Human Relations Commission, and Liz Bradbury's research files alphabetized by subject.
Pride of the Greater Lehigh Valley was an all-volunteer organization started in 1993 that put together Pride in the Park in Allentown, PA, as well as other events including the Lehigh Valley Queer Film Festival. In September 2017, they merged with the Bradbury-Sullivan LGBT Community Center.
This collection includes items relating to Pride in the Park events, including planning, publicity, and ephemera. There are also materials relating to other events hosted by Pride of the Greater Lehigh Valley, including posters for the Lehigh Valley Queer Film Festival, Disco Bowl, and Casino Night. Artifacts include t-shirts, a hat, and various awards.
