Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start Here for Semantic Mapping
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Selecting a Book
Select books from the list of Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People. You can browse by date or do a keyword search on the right-hand side for a topic of title and then limit your search by "Noteable Tradebooks."
Once you have identified a book you would like to use, check Encompass to see if it is available in our collection. Search for the title of the book and then change the list priority to "Best Match." If we do not have the book, feel free to request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Identifying Teacher and Student Resources
Keyword search and include the keyword "lesson plan."
Adam Matthew Digital Archive
Topical collections of primary sources across the 15th – 21st centuries. Content types include printed text, handwritten documents, and oral and video histories. Topics span the social sciences and humanities, including Area and Cultural Studies; Empire and Globalism; Gender and Sexuality; History; Politics; Literature; Theatre; War and Conflict. Search within a single collection or across collections.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection
"The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1691 to 1877."
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Features a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Trexler Library has access to two parts of the archives. One is "LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part 1" which draws from major international and local activist groupsc plus historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The collection also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. The other part of the archive available is "Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century" which comprises more than five thousand rare and unique books covering sex, sexuality, and gender issues across the sciences and humanities and throughout history. The collection examines topics such as patterns of fertility and sexual practice; prostitution; religion and sexuality; the medical and legal construction of sexualities; and the rise of sexology. It not only offers a reflection of the cultural and social attitudes of the past, but also a window into how sexuality and gender roles were viewed and changed over time.
Black Studies Center
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, a periodical index, and more, combined from several resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index. The database is a rich source of full text peer-reviewed journals such as Africa Policy Journal, African American Review, African Arts, African Economic History, African Studies Quarterly, Africana, and scores of others.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922.
Colonial North American Project at Harvard University
This website provides access to some of the remarkable materials digitized as part of the ongoing, multi-year Colonial North American Project at Harvard University. When complete, the project will make available to the world digitized images of all known archival and manuscript materials in the Harvard Library that relate to 17th and 18th century North America.
Early English Books Online
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) comprising books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Content covers critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Primarily in English but also includes other languages.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Gender: Identity and Social Change (Adam Matthew)
"Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics."
"...a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
Life Magazine Archive
"Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. "
Maclean's Magazine Archive
"Maclean’s Magazine Archive, 1905-2015, the leading Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work. It was initially known as The Business Magazine, then The Busy Man’s Magazine, and changed to the current title, Maclean’s, in 1911.
Maclean’s Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, gender issues, politics and culture, the history of business, advertising, and more."
Morning Call Archive, 1883-2011
Allentown / Lehigh Valley newspaper archive that comprises titles including the Critic and the Morning Critic, the Allentown Morning Call, and the Allentown Morning Call and Morning Herald.
Morning Call, 1984 to present
A database of articles from the Allentown-based Morning Call newspaper. Coverage from 1984 to 1 day ago. Full text is linked directly in the database.
NOTE: The library also has the most recent seven months of The Morning Call in paper, located in the Newspapers section on Level A.
Newspaper Archives: U.S. Northeast Collection
Searchable digital images of historical newspapers from 19 regional cities in the northeast. Includes the Allentown Morning Call Archive (1883-2011).
newspapers.com (Pennsylvania Collection)
The Newspapers.com Library Edition database provides searchable access to digital images of historical newspapers. Every part of every page is searchable, including local articles, advertisements, editorials, classified ads, and obituaries. Trexler Library has access to Newspapers.com Pennsylvania Collection which includes full or partial runs of 276 local newspapers published in Pennsylvania from 1769-2013.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Colonial to 1950. Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Full text journals available for searching include: Harper's Magazine, The Progressive, the New Leader, Dissent, American Spectator, Orion Magazine, The Nation, The New Republic, The New Yorker, The National Review, Washington Monthly, The Weekly Standard, LaFollette's Magazine, Commonweal, Commentary, NY Review of Books, Moment, Americas Quarterly.
The Early American paper of record, 1728-1800.
Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
A free resource. This archive offers searchable full-text access to more than 80 historically significant newspaper titles from the Commonwealth prior to 1923
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1860 - 2001
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Includes full text of the following publications:
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2014)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2000)
The Washington Post (1877-2001)
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970
documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. For scholars in the fields of American history, American studies, history of science and medicine, public health studies, sociology, political science, psychology, and economics, it documents through primary sources that record the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels, opening for researchers a new window on the roles played by key organizations and individuals to advance public health practices and outcomes.
Reader's Guide Retrospective
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States for the period 1890-1982.
Slavery & anti-slavery: a transnational archive
"Slavery & anti-slavery: a transnational archive covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery: legal issues; the Caribbean; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more."
Slavery in America and the world: history, culture, & law
"This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery....The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. We have gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We provide word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection."
Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.
US Northeast Newsstream
Major daily, regional, and local newspapers in the northeast including:
The Morning Call 1984-present
Philadelphia Inquirer 1983-present
Boston Globe 1997-present
Hartford Courant 1992-present
New York Daily News 1995-present
New York Observer 2001-present
New York Post 1998-present
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 1993-present
The Record (Bergen County) 1996-present
USA Today 1997-present
Village Voice 1993-2015
The Vogue Archive
"The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to present, with monthly updates for new issues."
Wall Street Journal
Full text from 1984-present.
Women's studies archive: Women's Issues and Identities
"Offering coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, Women's Issues and Identities allows for the serendipitous discovery of commonalities among a variety of archival collections.
Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society."
, Film Studies
, Information Science
, International Studies
, Media & Communication
, Political Economy & Public Policy
, Political Science
, Sustainability Studies
Fun Resources to use in Class
A data visualization tool that allows users to compare different social variables by country over time. For example, we can observe mortality by income and how it changes over time in the United States.