Subject Guides: Marketing: Home

Marketing Histories in Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands (PRINT)
(Call # 658.8343 E56o ON RESERVE BUS 239)
History of major name brands worldwide and their associated campaigns.
Index. List by industry.
Encyclopedia of Global Brands
Contains 270 entries, written in case-study style, that highlight interesting details including how a product originated and was first marketed, how it developed commercially and how it fares today compared with its competitors and its own past history. Included are anecdotes pertaining to the famous, or infamous, marketing strategies and advertising campaigns that managed to capture the sometimes jaded viewers' attention
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns (PRINT)
(Call # 659.1 E56o ON RESERVE BUS 239).
History of major name brands worldwide and their associated campaigns.
Index vol. 1 and vol. 2.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns vol. 2
History of major name brands worldwide and their associated campaigns.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies vol. 3
Available online. This volume is a continuation of the Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies vol. 4
A continuation of Major Marketing Campaigns.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Available through library subscription. An "aggregator database" containing the full text of trade journals and other business periodicals. Known for its subject indexing. Strong on information about both industries and companies.
Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, 1984-present (no images).
Students, faculty, and staff also have access to the wsj.com website. The library guide linked here provides instructions to set up an account.

International Directory of Company Histories
A reliable source of historical information for many companies: American and foreign, private and public, past and present-day.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Available by library subscription. Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals covering all aspects of accounting, business, and economics.
Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.

Value Line This link opens in a new window
Provides information on U.S. companies that sell stock. Information includes graphs, charts, ratings, and peer group analysis.

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.