This is the "Databases" page of the "Theatre and Dance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theatre and Dance  

Last Updated: Mar 7, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/theatredance Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search Google Scholar for Articles



Core Databases

  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
    Definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts with abundant links to scholarly full text. In dance, journals include Dance Research Journal, Journal of Dance and Somatic Practices, Performance Research, Research in Dance Education, and Writings on Dance. Theatre journals include Comparative Drama, The Dramatist, Early Theatre, Live Design, Medieval & Renaissance Drama in England, Modern Drama, and New England Theatre Journal. Embargoes may apply.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Standard scholarly index to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present. Strong in theatre criticism.
  • Project Muse
    Full text database of journals from several academic presses. Theatre journals include Comparative Drama, Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism, Modern Drama, TDR, and Theatre Journal. Dance journals include Dance Research and Dance Research Journal. No embargoes.

More Databases

  • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
    Index to historical literature for all regions excluding the U.S. and Canada, 1450-present. Numerous links to full text.
  • Literature Criticism Online
    All full text, this extensive archive of criticism of 20th century literary works comes from scholarly journals and books.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
  • America: History & Life with Full Text
    The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    Index to scholarly and popular literature in musicology, ethnomusicology, dance, and other music-related disciplines, with many links to full text.

Theatre Reviews

  • Academic Search Complete
    Includes selected reviews 1980-present.
  • A Guide to Critical Reviews: American Drama 1909-1982
    Call # 016.8092 S163g
    Index to reviews from the early 20th century to the eighties.
  • A Guide to Critical Reviews: The Musical, 1909-1989
    Call # 016.8092 S163g
    Musical theatre reviews 1909-1989.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Theatre reviews from newspapers (national and local) around the globe, 1980s to the present.
  • New York Times Online
    Includes New York theatre reviews from 1850s to present.
  • OmniFile
    Includes the Reader's Guide, with theatre reviews from 1980-present.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective
    Theatre reviews in popular periodicals, 1890-1980.
  • Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
    Call # 051 R286g
    Theatre reviews 1900-1996.
  • Times Digital Archive
    Archive of the London Times from the 1700s to present. Includes London theatre reviews.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kelly Cannon
Contact Info
484-664-3602
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip