This is the "About the Collection" page of the "Muhlenberg College World War II Navy V-12 and V-5 Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Muhlenberg College World War II Navy V-12 and V-5 Collection  

Finding aid for Muhlenberg College World War II Navy V-12 and V-5 Collection, Trexler Library, Special Collections and Archives.
Last Updated: Nov 6, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/v-12 Print Guide RSS Updates

About the Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

On Parade, 1943

 

Scope and Contents

Historical Note

On July 1, 1943, the V-12 Navy College Training Program was implemented on college campuses across the United States. Designed to supplement the officer ranks of the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps with college-educated men, this program offered mutual benefit to colleges and universities whose student bodies had been dramatically thinned by military service. By the end of the war, 131 college and universities had participated.

The V-12 was an accelerated program: colleges would operate for three four-month semesters each year, allowing students to complete a baccalaureate degree in two years.  Once they had received their degrees, the Navy men would report to Midshipman’s School, and after four months of additional training, they would be commissioned as ensigns in the U.S. Navy Reserve. Marine candidates would proceed to boot camp and Officer’s Candidate School, after which they would be commissioned as second lieutenants.

Muhlenberg’s first cohort of sailors and marines arrived on July 1st, and comprised 260 “bluejackets” and 200 Marines. The number of civilian students during the two years of the Naval programs fluctuated between 110 and 150 each term.

“By sundown on Saturday, 3 July, every member of the unit had taken his physical examination, his swimming test, his strength test, had been inoculated, and had been registered for his academic schedule. As a result classes started regularly at 0800 on the morning of Monday 5 July, and Muhlenberg was the only V-12 College in the country that made this record.”

   --Naval History of the Navy V-12 Unit: Muhlenberg College

Scope

The collection comprises photographs, class lists, course schedules, promotional brochures, and correspondence pertaining to the implementation of the V-12 and V-5 programs, covering the period from 1942-1946.

Extent

1.67 linear feet

Special Collections & Archives Help

Profile Image
Susan Falciani
Contact Info
484.664.3694
sfalciani@muhlenberg.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip