Subject Guides: New York Times Group Passes: Other Newspapers

Other Current News Sources

We are often asked about access to other kinds of news sources.

Wall Street Journal Online (WSJ.com) Access

Trexler Library offers current students, faculty, and staff the option to have full access to all The Wall Street Journal content on the wsj.com website. See the Wall Street Journal Online guide for instructions for setting up your individual account.

The Wall Street Journal can also be accessed online (text only) via: https://search-proquest-com.muhlenberg.idm.oclc.org/publication/10482 This Subscription offers access to articles from 1984 the present.

Chronicle of Higher Education

Also, for particular interest to faculty and staff at Muhlenberg, the library also provides digital access to The Chronicle of Higher Education. While on campus, you should be able to read articles directly. To access articles off-campus you must have a Chronicle account under your Muhlenberg email address. Create a Chronicle account here: http://www.chronicle.com/account/create using your Muhlenberg email address. You can set up the account while on-campus or off-campus.

Other Regional News Sources

Other Regional & local newspapers

Trexler Library also subscribes to the U.S. Northeast Newsstream, which is linked here: https://muhlenberg.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/northeastnews1?accountid=40980

This database includes current news articles and archives of several hundreds newspapers that stretch back into the 1980s. The content spans newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format for key city and regional news sources. You can see a full title list on the database page (click on "Publications"). Here are just a few of the holdings that may be of interest to you or your students:

The Morning Call 1984-present

Philadelphia Inquirer 1983-present

Boston Globe 1997-present

Barron's 1988-present

Hartford Courant 1992-present

New York Daily News 1995-present

New York Observer 2001-present

New York Post 1998-present

Newsday 1985-present

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 1993-present

The Record (Bergen County) 1996-present

USA Today 1997-present

Village Voice 1993-2015

Plus many small town newspapers

We have print issues of :

Guardian Weekly

Lehigh Valley Business

Le Monde. Selection hebdomadaire.

Sunday Times (London)

Washington Post

Die Zeit

This is just a small sampling of what we provide access for in the mainstream news realm. We also have a variety of other print and online news sources, including a range of magazines, as well as some resources in other languages. While we cannot provide universal access to all news sources, we strive to meet a broad range of needs. Should you have any questions or are not sure about how to access any of these, please reach out to any of the librarians. Additionally, we are happy to work with you on how you can provide links to these resources, articles, or other sources directly into your courses in Canvas by working with either your subject specialist or with library reserves.

Stay informed!

Historical News

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922.
Colonial North American Project at Harvard University
This website provides access to some of the remarkable materials digitized as part of the ongoing, multi-year Colonial North American Project at Harvard University. When complete, the project will make available to the world digitized images of all known archival and manuscript materials in the Harvard Library that relate to 17th and 18th century North America.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality and Gender features a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Trexler Library has access to three parts of the archives; LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Parts 1 and 2 plus Sex and Sexuality, 16th to 20th Century.
"LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part I" brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.
"Part II" adds oral history transcripts, diaries, and letters that provide a deeply personal and human interpretation of the LGBTQ experience and less mainstream LGBTQ groups such as student groups, Two-Spirit people, the Jewish LGBTQ community, LG Christian groups, and bisexual, transvestite, and transgender communities.
"Sex and Sexuality" is a collection of books in the natural and social sciences as well as literary works and humanities. Books examine topics such as patterns of fertility and sexual practice; prostitution; religion and sexuality; the medical and legal construction of sexualities; and the rise of sexology.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, a periodical index, videos, images, and more, combined from several resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index. The database is a rich source of full text peer-reviewed journals such as Africa Policy Journal, African American Review, African Arts, African Economic History, African Studies Quarterly, Africana, and scores of others.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-present.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
"...a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
Morning Call Archive, 1883-2011 This link opens in a new window
Allentown / Lehigh Valley newspaper archive that comprises titles including the Critic and the Morning Critic, the Allentown Morning Call, and the Allentown Morning Call and Morning Herald.
newspapers.com (Pennsylvania Collection) This link opens in a new window
Trexler Library has access to Newspapers.com Pennsylvania Collection which includes full or partial runs of 276 local newspapers published in Pennsylvania from 1769-2013.
The Newspapers.com Library Edition database provides searchable access to digital images of historical newspapers. Every part of every page is searchable, including local articles, advertisements, editorials, classified ads, and obituaries.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
"Newspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international and regional newspapers. Full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, 20/20, Nightline, Good Morning America, Meet the Press, CNN Headline News Primetime Justice, and more.
Including The Evening Standard (U.K.), Daily Mail Sunday (U.K.), Slovak Spectator, USA Today 2002-2023, The Washington Post (2003-2023), The Times (U.K., 2000-2023), The Australian (2000-2020), The Toronto Star (1985-2023), and many others.
New York Times Digital Archive, 1851-4 years ago This link opens in a new window
Includes full text PDF images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857- 4 years ago). Index searches within1851 to 1993 using The New York Times Index.
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Full text journals available for searching include: Harper's Magazine (1850- ), LaFollette's Magazine (1909- ), The Progressive (1909- ), Commonweal (1924- ), The New Leader (1924- ), The New Yorker (1925- ), Commentary Magazine (1945- ), Dissent (1954- ), American Spectator (1967- ), Washington Monthly (1969- ), Orion Magazine (1982- ), The Weekly Standard (1995- ), Americas Quarterly (2007- ), Washington Examiner (2013- ).
Pennsylvania Gazette This link opens in a new window
The Early American paper of record, 1728-1800. Access via Accessible Archives (now part of History Commons).
Pennsylvania Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
An open access resource. This archive offers searchable full-text access to more than 80 historically significant newspaper titles from the Commonwealth prior to 1923
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of the following publications:
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2019)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)
The Washington Post (1877-2006)
U.S. Northeast Collection (1785-2010) (includes Morning Call and other regional papers)
Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985) This link opens in a new window
Rand Daily Mail contains a wealth of unique perspectives on South Africa and the African continent during the 20th-century. This daily Johannesburg newspaper was South Africa's first to openly oppose apartheid. News coverage extends from the Boer Wars to the apartheid era.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States for the period 1890-1982.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.
U.S. Northeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Major daily, regional, and local newspapers in the northeast including:
The Morning Call 1984-present
Philadelphia Inquirer 1983-present
Boston Globe 1997-present
Hartford Courant 1992-present
New York Daily News 1995-present
New York Observer 2001-present
New York Post 1998-present
Newsday 1985-present
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 1993-present
The Record (Bergen County) 1996-present
Village Voice 1993-2015
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
"The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to present, with monthly updates for new issues."