Subject Guides: New York Times Group Passes: For Faculty

First Year Program and Leadership Program

Below are links for guides to incorporate The New York Times into First Year or Leadership programs on campus.

InEducation Program (offering subject areas): http://nytimesineducation.com/

Leadership Program: http://www.nytimes.com/leadership

Other News Databases

A small selection of print newspapers is available next to the Reading Lounge on Level A of Trexler Library. To see the list of print newspapers click here.

The majority of news sources provided by Trexler Library are available online. Here is a list of online sources.

Morning Call, 1984 to present This link opens in a new window
A database of articles from the Allentown-based Morning Call newspaper. Coverage from 1984 to 1 day ago. Full text is linked directly in the database.

New York Times
To access the current daily news content via nytimes.com, set up an account using your group pass by following these instructions.
more...less...
For historical articles, see U.S. Major Daily Newspapers database below.
Wall Street Journal (wsj.com)
To gain full access to the daily content via wsj.com website, set up an account using the instructions available in this guide.
more...less...
For access to historical articles of the WSJ, see U.S. Newsstream or the Wall Street Journal below.

U.S. Major Daily Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8 a.m. each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains a number of popular national magazines including New Scientist, Time, Scientific American, New Republic, Christianity Today, Sierra, US News and World Report, New Yorker, Rolling Stone. To only see newspapers or magazines limit search by "Source Type."
Asian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to more than 60 of the most respected national and regional sources of news and current affairs information in Asia and the Far East. Many titles are available in full text and are updated within 24 hours of publication. Publications include The Wall Street Journal Asia, China News and The Bangkok Post.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-present.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to current and recent archives of major daily news publications, regional, and local news resources in the US & Canada, plus over 800 more from around the globe. Publication types include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides full text news information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers from all continents, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, Folha de Sao Paulo, El Norte, Financial Times, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, Asian Wall Street Journal. Does not include newspapers from within the United States.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the most recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format.
It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal (Mexico City); O Globo (Brazil); La Nación (Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile).
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
"Newspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international and regional newspapers. Full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, 20/20, Nightline, Good Morning America, Meet the Press, CNN Headline News Primetime Justice, and more.
Including The Evening Standard (U.K.), Daily Mail Sunday (U.K.), Slovak Spectator, USA Today 2002-2023, The Washington Post (2003-2023), The Times (U.K., 2000-2023), The Australian (2000-2020), The Toronto Star (1985-2023), and many others.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. Includes key national and regional news sources beyond the northeast:
The Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Los Angeles Times (1985-present
USA Today (1988-present)
Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
Washington Post (1987-present)
Titles are cross searchable with all newspapers on the ProQuest platform.
U.S. Northeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Major daily, regional, and local newspapers in the northeast including:
The Morning Call 1984-present
Philadelphia Inquirer 1983-present
Boston Globe 1997-present
Hartford Courant 1992-present
New York Daily News 1995-present
New York Observer 2001-present
New York Post 1998-present
Newsday 1985-present
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 1993-present
The Record (Bergen County) 1996-present
Village Voice 1993-2015
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, 1984-present (no images).
Students, faculty, and staff also have access to the wsj.com website. The library guide linked here provides instructions to set up an account.

Other News Regional Sources

Other Regional & local newspapers

Trexler Library also subscribes to the U.S. Northeast Newsstream, which is linked here: https://muhlenberg.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/northeastnews1?accountid=40980

This database includes current news articles and archives of several hundreds newspapers that stretch back into the 1980s. The content spans newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format for key city and regional news sources. You can see a full title list on the database page (click on "Publications"). Here are just a few of the holdings that may be of interest to you or your students:

The Morning Call 1984-present

Philadelphia Inquirer 1983-present

Boston Globe 1997-present

Barron's 1988-present

Hartford Courant 1992-present

New York Daily News 1995-present

New York Observer 2001-present

New York Post 1998-present

Newsday 1985-present

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 1993-present

The Record (Bergen County) 1996-present

USA Today 1997-present

Village Voice 1993-2015

Plus many small town newspapers

We have print issues of :

Guardian Weekly

Lehigh Valley Business

Le Monde. Selection hebdomadaire.

Sunday Times (London)

Washington Post

Die Zeit

This is just a small sampling of what we provide access for in the mainstream news realm. We also have a variety of other print and online news sources, including a range of magazines, as well as some resources in other languages. While we cannot provide universal access to all news sources, we strive to meet a broad range of needs. Should you have any questions or are not sure about how to access any of these, please reach out to any of the librarians. Additionally, we are happy to work with you on how you can provide links to these resources, articles, or other sources directly into your courses in Canvas by working with either your subject specialist or with library reserves.

Stay informed!