Subject Guides: Finding Your Muse: Home

Online reference works from reputable publishers

Credo Reference
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Scholarly sources

Academic Search Premier
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Encompass
Encompass searches for books and articles, first in our own library, and then beyond in other research libraries.
Google Scholar
A free resource. Use with caution, as not all resources are in fact scholarly.

PsycINFO
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Respected new sources

New York Times Access
Trexler Library provides access to a full subscription of the New York Times.
Wall Street Journal access
Trexler Library is happy to offer access to the Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) through an Academic Site License. The linked guide explains how to activate your subscription.

Citing sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

Articles and books via interlibrary loan

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

Using generative AI to find scholarly sources

Google Scholar and library databases like Academic Search and JSTOR often outpace generative AI when it comes to providing citations to sources, particularly those that have been identified as scholarly. Generative AI is better suited to yielding summaries of information compiled from many sources. That said, some AI tools can provide source recommendations. Here are some of the tools that may be used for this purpose.

Copilot (tends toward popular sources, but scholarly sources can be requested)
Elicit (click on "find papers")
Perplexity (tends toward popular sources, but scholarly sources can be requested)

Remember that generative AI tools may be limited by pay walls. For this reason, it is advised to cast a wide net and use additional search engines to thoroughly cover your research topic.

Finding Your Muse

Need help with your research?

Getting to the full text