Subject Guides: Organizational Leadership: Home

Conducting a literature review

UNC Guide to Writing a Literature Review
A thorough guide to writing a literature review.

Scholarly books

Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.

Scholarly and News Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Available by library subscription. Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals covering all aspects of accounting, business, and economics.
Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.

Google Scholar
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

New York Times
Here are directions for Muhlenberg faculty and students to get full online access to the New York Times from on or off campus.
Wall Street Journal
Here are directions for Muhlenberg faculty and students to get full online access to the WSJ from on or off campus.

Trade associations/literature

Trade associations--sometimes called industry associations --provide industry news, analysis, and statistics. They are a great way to discover current trends and concerns of the industry!

To find the trade associations for your industry, Google the name of the industry plus the word "association" as in:

footwear association

Optionally, you may wish to visit Marketing Mentor's extensive list of trade associations.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains the full text of hundreds of trade association journals/publications, published in many cases by the trade associations themselves. Search on the name of your industry, and then limit to "trade publications" in the facets to the left of the search results.
Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.

Industry reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search on the word Marketline and the name of the industry.
Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.
Value Line This link opens in a new window
Value Line contains several excellent industry reports. Just click on the "Industry Screens" from the landing page.

Company reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database contained over 10,000 Marketline Company Reports. To access these reports, in Business Source Complete, select More (menu at top of screen) then Company Profiles.
Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, search on "Marketline" and the name of the company.

SEC EDGAR
Government site containing 10-K reports for all U.S. public parent companies. Recent years should be available in spreadsheet format.

Case studies

Harvard Case Studies
Harvard's case studies are available for ~$9 each.

FOR INSTRUCTORS: Content for courses and selection of textbooks

Advanced Google
Search for syllabus and limit to .edu . Explore syllabus for recommended textbooks.
Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
RedShelf
Partner with Muhlenberg. Students request the books themselves.

FOR INSTRUCTORS: Open educational resources (OER)

CSU Merlot
EDUCAUSE gateway to OER
Use these links to explore OER.
Open Textbook Library
Just textbooks. Primarily for higher education. Well-reviewed. Includes OpenStax
OpenEd CUNY
OpenEd CUNY is a curated digital library of open educational resources.
Mason OER Metafinder
Real-time federated search for OER content.
OER Commons Textbooks
Open textbooks.

Citing sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

Or visit the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Directions for installing Zotero here.

For help with annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for definitions and format of an annotation.

APA style

APA Style Guide
Includes page layout.
APA Style PowerPoint Presentations
Preparing a PowerPoint presentation in APA style? Follow this model slideshow to see how to prepare your presentation.

Articles and books via interlibrary loan

Articles and books not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

Setting up news feeds using Google Alerts

A guide to setting up news feeds using Google Alerts