Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Resources by Course
Find specific recommendations by course:
Core Resources for Finding Articles and Books
Citations to scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and more in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines, with many sociology journals. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books and scholarly journals, as well as newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more.
Core Resources for Finding Background Information
To find more print and online reference books for general sociology, as well as specific subjects within or related to sociology, search Encompass Search or ask for help.
21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook
Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 301 T971c vol. 1-2
Highlights the most important sociology topics, issues, questions, and debates in the 21st century.
Annual Review of Sociology
Literature reviews providing summary and analysis of research in the field of sociology, published annually. Good for an overview of the state of research on a given topic. Full text is available online for 1975-present.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory
Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 301.01 E56o vol. 1-2 (Level B)
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Core Citation Resources
Style Guide / American Sociological Association
Location: Ready Reference 808.0663 A512a 2010 (Level A)
The authoritative and complete manual for ASA Style.
ASA Style (Buffalo State, SUNY)
Examples of ASA Style formatting, in-text citations, and reference lists.
Formatting in Sociology, ASA Style (Purdue University)
Examples of ASA Style formatting, in-text citations, and reference lists. Use the links of the left sidebar to navigate to sections.
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
, Film Studies
, Information Science
, International Studies
, Media & Communication
, Political Economy & Public Policy
, Political Science
, Sustainability Studies
Empirical or Literature Review?
Examples of a literature review:
Examples of an empirical article: