Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Encompass Search Trexler Library: Using Encompass Search

Navigation

Using Encompass Search

‚ÄčWhat is Encompass Search?

Encompass Search is more than a typical ‘Library Catalog’-- it is a unified discovery tool powered by the OCLC WorldCat Database. Through one simple search box, it allows you to find information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. Rather than searching in multiple separate databases, Encompass Search helps you find reliable resources from many catalogs and databases quickly and easily, all from a single search box!

A single Encompass Search includes:

  • Over 400,000 physical items in Trexler Library’s holdings;

  • Over 600,00 electronic resources (eBooks, video, databases, etc.) subscribed to or held by Trexler Library;

  • Millions of links to individual scholarly journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, database articles, book reviews, etc. accessible through Trexler Library subscriptions;

  • Thousands of out of print books in the public domain through the HathiTrust Digital Library;

  • Millions of additional books and articles outside of our library--but available by request through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

When should I use Encompass Search?

Encompass Search allows you to quickly search, find, and access reliable and credible library content. In addition to locating books and other materials in Trexler Library’s local holdings, Encompass Search is ideal for:

  • Researching paper topics by revealing a broad overview of what's "out there" in the scholarly literature;

  • Finding representative, high-quality sources in various formats-- by filtering using the ‘peer-review limiter’ 

  • Locating interdisciplinary information by drawing on databases and indexes beyond resources you already know about-- even beyond Trexler Library’s holdings!

Get help

Need more help with this?