Welcome to Subject Guides

This collection contains the published works of the College ( "The Muhlenberg Weekly," the "Ciarla," student handbooks, etc.) as well as collected documentation and memorabilia relating to College history, campus buildings, administrators, faculty and staff, student organizations, and more.

Unique unpublished material held by Special Collections and College Archives that is unrelated to Muhlenberg College. Collections include photographs, manuscripts, correspondence, textiles, memorabilia, and more.

Trexler Library’s Rare Books Collection includes a fine selection of 16th & 17th century Lutheran Bibles and texts, modern first editions, several incunabula, cuneiform tablets, travel narratives, works of American and world history, and examples from the literary canon.

This collection includes books, periodicals, recordings and ephemera relating to the Pennsylvania German language, history and culture. It is a representative collection of the first one hundred years of German-language printing in America (1748-1848).

Special Collections is the repository for nearly 400 maps and atlases, including engraved maps from the 17th through the 19th centuries by some of the most recognized mapmakers, including Blaeu, Moll, Homann, Seutter, Cary, de L’Isle, Vaugondy, and more, as well as a robust collection of American and international road maps spanning the 1930s through the 2010s. Also represented are a number of 19th-century Allentown and Lehigh County maps. The majority of these maps are included in the Ray R. Brennen Map Collection and the Kaufman-Derrow Map Collection.

Muhlenberg College’s Robert C. Horn Papyri Collection contains thirty-six pieces of Greek papyri illustrates the variety of types of documents found in the early 20th excavation at Oxyrhynchus (in present day Egypt).

The Bradbury-Sullivan LGBT Community Center and Trexler Library’s Special Collections and Archives have partnered to collect, preserve, and provide access to the Lehigh Valley LGBT Community Archive. This collection documents local and regional LGBTQ+ life and activism. It includes publications, organizational records, personal papers, oral histories, and artifacts.

This marvelous collection, gifted to Muhlenberg College in 1991, contains more than 31,000 pieces of American popular music published between 1900-1965.

This collection documents the congressional work of Paul McHale (1950-), U.S. Representative for Pennsylvania's 15th district from 1993-1998. The collection is currently being processed.

Sam Stovall, Class of 1977, donated his personal collection of nearly 1,200 rock ‘n’ roll albums to the College in 1989. Artists represented in the collection span from the Association to the Zombies and include Chuck Berry, Bo Diddly, the Beach Boys, and the Beatles, as well as many others.

During World War II, Muhlenberg College staff members Gordon Fister, Director of Public Relations, and John Wagner, Alumni Secretary, corresponded with Muhlenberg students and alumni who were serving in the armed forces. The collection comprises correspondence to and from 262 Muhlenberg students and alumni.

Finding aid for Muhlenberg College World War II Navy V-12 and V-5 Collection, Trexler Library, Special Collections and Archives.