Subject Guides: Federal Depository Library Information Guide: Statistics & Economics

Federal Government Statistics & Economics

The U.S. Federal Government collects and publishes hundreds of points of data every day. These data can be used to answer questions about population, demographics, economics and business, agriculture, employment, and foreign trade, among many others.

A good first step in finding general statistical data is to consult the Statistical Abstract of the United States (now published by ProQuest) Thereafter, use the other links and resources listed here to further refine your search.

ProQuest statistical abstract of the United States by ProQuest (Firm)
Call Number: Ref. 317.3 U58s
Publication Date: 2013-present
Publication of the Statistical Abstract by the Census Bureau ceased in 2011, but this series continues to be published by ProQuest.

Government Statistics

Data.gov (Free)
"The Home of the U.S. Government's Open Data" --
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Census.gov (Free)
U.S. Census bureau's "Explore Census Data" site.
[Placeholder for Census LibGuide]
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) (Free)
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy. BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. We do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (Free)
BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (Free)
Presents data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Center for Disease Control & Prevention (CDL) (Free)
Data and statistics on diseases and health categorized by broad topic. Page also provides links to additional sources of health data.

Agricultural Statistics Annual (Free)
From the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) This annual publication includes data on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns and is intended as a reference for common use. Foreign agricultural trade statistics of government and non-government shipments from the U.S. to foreign countries are also included in the report.
Monthly Energy Review (MER) (Free)
From the U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) A publication of recent and historical U.S. energy statistics. This publication includes total energy production, consumption, stocks, and trade; energy prices; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and carbon dioxide emissions; and data unit conversions values.
Economic indicators (Free)
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic Indicators back to 1948 are made available through FRASER, the Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research.
FRASER (St. Louis Fed) (Free)
Historical issues of "Economic Indicators" This monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Budget of the U.S. Government (Free)
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year.

Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970 by Bureau of the Census.
Call Number: C 3.134/2:H 62/789-970/
Publication Date: 1976
Contains annual, time-series data with national coverage on almost any aspect of United States economics, population or infrastructure since the government began recording statistics. Part 1 covers: Population. Vital statistics and health and medical care. Migration. Labor. Prices and price indexes. National income and wealth. Consumer income and expenditures. Social statistics. Land, water, and climate. Agriculture. Forestry and fisheries. Minerals. Part 2 covers: Construction and housing. Manufactures. Transportation. Communications. Energy. Distribution and services. International transactions and foreign commerce. Business enterprise. Productivity and technological development. Financial markets and institutions.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: C 3.134:
Publication Date: 1879-2012
The Statistical Abstract of the United States was a publication of the United States Census Bureau, an agency of the United States Department of Commerce. Published annually from 1878 to 2011, the statistics described social, political and economic conditions in the United States.--Wikipedia
ProQuest statistical abstract of the United States by ProQuest (Firm)
Call Number: Ref. 317.3 U58s
Publication Date: 2013-present
Publication of the Statistical Abstract by the Census Bureau ceased in 2011, but this series continues to be published by ProQuest.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Online access to historical editions of the preeminent resource for statistics about the U.S. from 1878-2012.

Historical Statistics of the U.S. (Subscription)
Available to Muhlenberg College users.
Comprehensive survey and tabulation of historical statistics from government agencies and other sources, covering all aspects of US population and economy. View tables or download as Excel files.