History Subject Guide

Provides insight into Chinese history and culture today in nearly a thousand articles that include everything from Adoption and Banking to Wound Literature and the Zhou Dynasty. Designed for students, teachers, businesspeople, government officials, and tourists seeking a greater understanding of China today.

Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Covers the history of the entire African continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east.

A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.

A two volume A to Z encyclopedia covering the rise of urban America in the 20th century.

Covering the period from the beginning of the Renaissance to the present, this encyclopedia consists of 209 signed articles and nearly 300 biographical entries.

Newly revised and online, well-respected resource complete with recommended readings for further study.

A four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more than 600 entries, arranged alphabetically.

Online version of a six-volume survey of modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south.

Provides a comprehensive discussion of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion, and social systems; and is designed to complement the study of comparative politics, world history, geography, literature, arts and culture and world cultures. Entries span the period from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union.

A six-volume survey of European history from 1450, the beginning of the print revolution, to 1789 and the French Revolution. Presents over 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries covering the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare.

A five-volume survey of European history from the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War. Alphabetically arranged entries cover the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare.

A multi-volume survey of European history from the beginning of World War I in 1914 to the present, presented through alphabetically arranged entries that focus on the period's scientific, social and cultural history as well as the political, military and economic developments. For students and general readers.

Provides a concise history of the U.S. government and political scene throughout American history, with a particular emphasis on how government and politics affect, and are affected by, social change.

This encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. It traces the history of political institutions, parties, and founding documents. It explains ideas, philosophies, and movements that shaped American politics.