Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Subject Guide

Each 20-page country profile includes colorful maps—one highlighting world location and one with major cities and natural landmarks—and country flag, and 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.

Following the extensive introduction that summarizes this politically and physically complex part of the world, this volume provides 20-page profiles of the 25 countries that make up eastern Europe. Each includes colorful maps—one highlighting the country's location in the world, and one with its major cities and natural landmarks—and a country flag, plus 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.

Following the extensive introduction that summarizes this politically and physically complex part of the world, this volume provides 20-page profiles of the 21countries that make up this region of the world. Each includes colorful maps—one highlighting the country's location in the world, and one with its major cities and natural landmarks—and a country flag, plus 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.

Following the extensive introduction that summarizes this politically and physically complex part of the world, this volume provides 20-page profiles of the 22 countries that make up North America and the Caribbean. Each includes colorful maps—one highlighting the country's location in the world, and one with its major cities and natural landmarks—and a country flag, plus 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.

Following the extensive introduction that summarizes this politically and physically complex part of the world, this volume provides 20-page profiles of the 27 countries that make up western Europe. Each includes colorful maps—one highlighting the country's location in the world, and one with its major cities and natural landmarks—and a country flag, plus 10 categories of information: General Information; Environment & Geography; Customs & Courtesies; Lifestyle; Cultural History; Culture; Society; Social Development; Government; and Economy. Each profile also includes full color photographs, valuable tables of information including fun “Do You Know?” facts, and a comprehensive Bibliography.

A respected starting place for scholarly study of foodways.

Covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from early settlements to the present day.

Newly revised and online, well-respected resource complete with recommended readings for further study.

Spanish cuisine and its influences.

Provides information on the cultures of the world, covering different areas of daily life including clothing, food, language and religion.