Anthologies

Anthologies (also referred to as 'Monuments' or 'Denkmaler') are collections of musical works by several composers collected along a specific theme. These themes are often by type (e.g. Church music), or by era (Baroque, Renaissance, etc.), or by geographic location (Italian music, music of Britain, etc.)

The best way to locate a specific work within these anthologies is to look it up in Heyer's "Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music" (Call Number: SCO 780.263 H615h 1980)

Trexler Library's collections include:

Musica Britannica by Paul Doe, General Editor (1987–2001)
Call Number: SCO 780.942 M987b
Publication Date: 1951-
Musica Britannica was founded in 1951 as an authoritative national collection of British music, and is today recognised as one of the world’s outstanding library collections, with an unrivalled range and authority making it an indispensable resource both for performers and scholars.
Recent Researches in the music of the Baroque by Alexander J. Fisher, general editor
Call Number: SCO 780.9032 R295b
Publication Date: 1964-
Recent Researches in the Music of the Baroque Era includes a vast store of music that reflects the musical richness of the baroque era. Each volume in the series provides an historical introduction, a critical report, and English translations of foreign texts. Together they represent all of the principal genres and compositional styles of the period 1600–1750.
Recent researches in the music of the Renaissance by David Crook, general editor
Call Number: SCO 780.9031 R295r
Publication Date: 1964-
Since its inception in 1964, Recent Researches in the Music of the Renaissance has brought to press many volumes devoted to the music of the “long” sixteenth century. Each volume in the series provides a historical introduction, critical report, and English translations of foreign texts. Together they represent all of the principal genres of the period.
Treasury of English church music by Gerald H. Knight and William L. Reed, General editors.
Call Number: SCO 780.942 K69t
Publication Date: 1965
5 volumes of mostly mixed choral music. Volumes contain works by date from 1100 through 1965. Includes works in Latin and in English.